Anyone with similar observations?

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series digital camera backs.

Anyone with similar observations?

Postby NN636843320275201734UL » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:56 am

I was wondering if phaseone is considering thunderbolt or lightpeak integration into the digital backs.

I ask this because i feel that this interface would be more stable and massively faster for data transfer. Active cables would run longer lenghts as well. Also cheaper cables.

I am a long time phaseone user from the days of H25. And ive seen phaseone come a long way from back then. The quality has always been fantastic. Loved the way you guys completely re-wrote the software to its modern day version etc..

As far as the io goes, ive always had issues shooting tethered. More now than before. Over firewire or usb. On laptops or computers. ( we are a mac only setup ) Off late i do not remember a single shoot where capture one has not locked up on me. I dread seeing that spinning ball. And i notice it more often when shooting tethered. And i shoot to Eip. Both canon and phaseone.

Anyone with similar observations?
NN636843320275201734UL
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:13 am

Re: Anyone with similar observations?

Postby Paul Richards Leeds UK » Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:17 am

I believe the IQ4 is the answer to your problems , just a matter of cost! :D
Paul Richards Leeds UK
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:42 pm

Re: Anyone with similar observations?

Postby Andrew_eaton » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:07 pm

Shooting on the iq4 over ethernet is fantastic, its a bit slower 1.5sec per full 16bit ex file but very reliable and a much more flexible and longer cable usb 3 can do. shooting over the usb 3.1 has a serious cable limit of 3m
Andrew_eaton
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: Anyone with similar observations?

Postby C-M-B » Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:25 pm

Andrew_eaton wrote:Shooting on the iq4 over ethernet is fantastic, its a bit slower 1.5sec per full 16bit ex file but very reliable and a much more flexible and longer cable usb 3 can do. shooting over the usb 3.1 has a serious cable limit of 3m


How does it have a cable limit of 3m? Isn't that more a myth than anything else?
I've been using a 5m cable for usb 3 connections to a tethered camera without any issues - and with a repeater you can go to 10m and beyond.
C-M-B
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: Anyone with similar observations?

Postby Andrew_eaton » Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:37 pm

USB 3.0 aka 5Gbit does work on 5m cables, USB 3.1 aka 10Gbit or thunderbolt 3 which is 40Gbit has a 3m cable limit, you can always use a USB 3.0 cable and repeater as I do. I have found ethernet more reliable and far less risk of over bending the usb cable breaking it which I have done many times..
Andrew_eaton
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: Anyone with similar observations?

Postby C-M-B » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:22 pm

3.1 also works with a repeater at 15m. At least according to specs.
C-M-B
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:57 pm


Return to Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest