Thunderbolt integration ?

Questions, comments and suggestions regarding Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series digital camera backs.

Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby ashayk » Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:33 pm

I was wondering if phaseone is considering thunderbolt or lightpeak integration into the digital backs.

I ask this because i feel that this interface would be more stable and massively faster for data transfer. Active cables would run longer lenghts as well.  Also cheaper cables.

  I am a long time phaseone user from the days of H25. And ive seen phaseone come a long way from back then. The quality has always been fantastic. Loved the way you guys completely re-wrote the software to its modern day version etc..

 As far as the io goes, ive always had issues shooting tethered. More now than before. Over firewire or usb. On laptops or computers. ( we are a mac only setup )  Off late i do not remember a single shoot where capture one has not locked up on me. I dread seeing that spinning ball.  And i notice it more often when shooting tethered. And i shoot to Eip.  Both canon and phaseone.  

Anyone with similar observations?  

Regards,
Ashay  

http://www.ashayk.com 
ashayk
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:35 pm

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby Ulf » Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:15 am

Hi

First thing to understand is what Thunderbolt / Lightpeak is.

Here is some info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thunderbolt_(interface)
It is a extension of the PCIe bus and not a peripheral connection.
This means that you could connect Thunderbolt to a Firewire or USB hub and similar things but not really the right way to go with a device.

But what if?

Why USB3?

Availability: Basically every computer today have USB on the host, USB3 is backward compatible with USB2 and 1.1
Thunderbolt is only available on a very limited amount of Apple computers, so basically we are dealing with USB that is available on close to 100% of all computers vs. one that is available on a small fraction of the computers.

Cable length: Max 3meters on Thunderbolt. Same applies to USB3 but signal amplifiers are widely available http://www.everythingusb.com/accell-usb ... 17708.html

Speed: USB3 speed is 5Gb/s, while USB2 is 480MB/s In most cases the USB2 speed is enough to for Phase One backs to transfer as quick as it possible.
Thunderbolt allows even faster rate but it is completely unnecessary since this will not be the bottle neck
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby ashayk » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:43 pm

Thanks for the reply Ulf, nice to know.

Any idea why capture one keeps throwing the spinning ball at me even though i am using the latest software and maxed out hardware combination?

Cheers,
Ashay
ashayk
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:35 pm

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby Ulf » Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:17 am

Hi, could be a number of reasons.
Either you can contact your dealer to have them help you troubleshoot or you can create a support case at http://support.phaseone.com
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby Ulf » Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:21 pm

Just a short addition to this thread, Thunderbolt adapters are starting to show up:

http://www.sonnettech.com/news/nab2011/

We have no info or test yet on this as it is just an announcement.
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby Dirk3 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:48 am

Hi,

Has anyone tested this with a MacBook Air / Thunderbold and a Phase One Back via FireWire?
Sorry for my english...
User avatar
Dirk3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby Paul_Steunebrink » Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:20 pm

The Thunderbolt to Firewire (800) adapter from Apple shows up in the online store:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD464 ... ode=51&p=2
User avatar
Paul_Steunebrink
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
 
Posts: 9488
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby NN8917711 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:30 pm

I ordered mine today from the uk. Hoping to test it before i buy the retina to use on my P45+
NN8917711
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:48 pm

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby Jon » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:26 am

In preliminary tests the adapter from Apple does work as expected. Power output on the thunderbolt port is fairly low, not unlike the FW 800 ports on the laptops. Be sure to use the battery setting on P+ backs. Connection was plug and play as expected though performance was maybe a little bit slower than direct FW800. So far Ive tested on a late 2011 MBP with i7 processor and SSD. We will test more computers when the adapters arrive in Denmark.
Jon
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:48 pm
Location: New York, USA

Re: Thunderbolt integration ?

Postby NNN634510505535865560 » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:00 am

Our reseller has emailed this to us. Unbelievably poor outcome!
How they continue to advertise USB3 as a feature is beyond me. This is a camera that costs as much as a car - just get it fixed already!!

Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire Compatibility

The adaptor has been tested and found to work adequetly for tethered capture with certain Phase One and Leaf digital backs. However, there are some workflow concerns to consider when using the Adaptor;
• Due to the additional "translation" of the Firewire communication through the Thunderbolt Terminal, capture speed will suffer some performance.
• Due to the loss of capture speed performance, it is possible to fill the buffer of the IQ, Credo and P+ backs much faster than with a standard Firewire Connection. Discretion when shooting quickly is suggested.
• Due to Power Consumption with this setup it is recommended to have additional batteries as well as have the Apple system connected to a power source.
More details please refer to the article.

The test digital back are IQ, p65+, p45+, p30+.

and a link to this article
http://www.phaseone.com/Search/Article. ... nguageid=1
NNN634510505535865560
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:49 am


Return to Phase One IQ4, IQ3, IQ2 and IQ1 series camera backs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest