LC and Mac Sierra

Discussion about Leaf Capture and Leaf Remote application

LC and Mac Sierra

Postby scottgraham » Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:04 pm

I am currently running my Aptus 75 on Mac ElCapitan with no problems,

and would like to update the Mac to Sierra, but am afraid to lose the ability to use the back.

Anyone tried it? or does Phase One know?

Thanks
scottgraham
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 3:55 am

Re: LC and Mac Sierra

Postby Ulf » Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:01 am

HI

Before anything else, here is the disclaimer:
LC 11.5.3 is designed for Mac OS 10.5, 10.6 and 10.7
Officially it does not work on anything newer.
LC11.5.3 rely on Java 6 runtime.
This works on up to Mac OS 10.11 and can be downloaded here:
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572?locale=en_US

However :D : I just installed 11.5.3 and Java 6 runtime environment.
It seem to be working fine. Also I connected a Aptus 22 back and shot a few shots.
Seems to be fine too.

This is not a official recommendation but rather a quick and dirty test.
Since none of the components are officially supported we can not provide support on them.
Official recommendation is to use Capture One 9.3 (PRO with Aptus and Aptus S, DB or PRO with Aptus-II and Credo)
Kind Regards
Ulf Liljegren
Phase One
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: LC and Mac Sierra

Postby scottgraham » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:02 am

Hi Ulf,

Thank you for the answer; you have been "with us a long time" :)

and when you said "install", I presume that you mean on Sierra, 10.12? Thank you for the test and open mind.

I had my son try it and he got a permissions and 5000 error. I was afraid to upgrade to Sierra without knowing cuz even though I use the back very little the last few years, I would be devastated to lose the capability.

Maybe I should try Capture One, but I have always been miffed that LC is free and Cap 1 is not.

Scott
scottgraham
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 3:55 am

Re: LC and Mac Sierra

Postby Ulf » Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:01 am

Hi

Of course I mean Mac OS 10.12, that is what you question is about isn't it? :wink:

Error 5000 is a standard permission issue in Mac OS. Have a search online, there is numerous of solutions.

But since it is not "officially" supported I suggest you stick with Mac OS 10.11 since it work.
Basically a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"

Capture One as you know is a Phase One product.
We have both Capture One PRO and Capture One DB.
The later one is free of charge for Phase One products. With Leaf products that means Aptus-II and Credo.
Aptus and Aptus S is supported in in the charged version called Capture One PRO since they where produced by Kodak and not Phase One. I think there is a bit of logic in that.
Kind Regards
Ulf Liljegren
Phase One
Ulf
Crew
Crew
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: LC and Mac Sierra

Postby scottgraham » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:53 pm

Thank you again,
and yes, that was the question :)

You attitude to stick with what works is a good one. Would sort of like Sierra but don't need it.

Scott
scottgraham
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 3:55 am


Return to Leaf Capture 11.x



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest