Page 3 of 4

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:33 pm
by Gretelill
Hi.
Great! It works!
I found the paths at least.
For sure I saved the files (copies) in two different folders capture_A and Canon_A on desktop. Worked in two windows(Finder), so I did not miss up while movings the files.
Thanks!
Gretelill, Norway

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:02 am
by NN410
Yep, it works. I had 2 guys work for about 8 hrs until PhaseOne sent me to this thread. Seems to run for now. We'll run it until somebody in the Apple-Canon-Phase One loop comes up with another conflict. You guys don't make a very good case for buying new stuff.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:13 am
by Lanny
So I went through the process and got 6.4.4 to attach to my 5D Mark III. Unfortunately my 5D Mark II does not attach.
I then downloaded 6.4.2 and now I have two different C1s- one for each camera. I run 10.6.8 on a Macbook Pro.
Do I really have to work this way? It would be great if one version worked for both cameras.
I am thinking of upgrading to C1 7 but am really afraid to do so.
I am open to any thoughts or ideas.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:47 pm
by Brian Jones
Lanny wrote:So I went through the process and got 6.4.4 to attach to my 5D Mark III. Unfortunately my 5D Mark II does not attach.
I then downloaded 6.4.2 and now I have two different C1s- one for each camera. I run 10.6.8 on a Macbook Pro.
Do I really have to work this way? It would be great if one version worked for both cameras.
I am thinking of upgrading to C1 7 but am really afraid to do so.
I am open to any thoughts or ideas.


This work around is only for os 10.7.5 and higher. If you are running 10.6.8 you should be able to tether with 6.4.4 without any issues. It was the 10.7.5 upgrade and 10.8 that broke the Canon SDK. It may be a good idea to keep 6.4.2 for shooting with the 5dMK2 if you do it often and you will not have to restart every time you disconnect the camera.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 6:13 am
by NNN634839854276569300
Have downloaded the version 7.0.1 and applied the canon fix for Mark III and this partially works
with 10.7.5. Although if you turn the Camera off with the software loaded it comes up with and error, this also
applies to camera sleep and the only way to get it going again is quit CaptureOne and re-run.

Tony Owczarek

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:56 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
NNN634839854276569300 wrote:Have downloaded the version 7.0.1 and applied the canon fix for Mark III and this partially works
with 10.7.5. Although if you turn the Camera off with the software loaded it comes up with and error, this also
applies to camera sleep and the only way to get it going again is quit CaptureOne and re-run.

This is a known limitation of the workaround. Thanks for your feedback.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:25 pm
by BoonChian
Just wanted to say thanks to you Paul.

Its partially working now. I just have to re-start Capture 7, whenever my camera gets disconnected or goes to sleep. Better than nothing for the moment. Hopefully Canon releases a new SDK soon.

Running on Mac OS 10.8.2 Mountain Lion. Capture 7.0.1

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 7:33 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
boonchian wrote:Just wanted to say thanks to you Paul.

Its partially working now. I just have to re-start Capture 7, whenever my camera gets disconnected or goes to sleep. Better than nothing for the moment. Hopefully Canon releases a new SDK soon.

Running on Mac OS 10.8.2 Mountain Lion. Capture 7.0.1

You're welcome. Set the Power Save of your camera to 30 min or Off during tethering.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:38 pm
by John3111
Just tried Paul's solution below and it worked perfectly for my Canon 1Dx with Mountain Lion and Capture 1 v6.4.4. The end of months of tethering problems! His instructions are easy and perfectly detailed but my two small suggestions for making it a little smoother for those less technically inclined are to refer to the OPTION click command rather than the Windows terminology of Right Click and also to remind users that dragging the A Folder onto your desktop will only result in putting an alias there. You have to do a Command C to make it copy the entire contents of the actual folder.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:23 pm
by Paul_Steunebrink
John3111 wrote:...
His instructions are easy and perfectly detailed but my two small suggestions for making it a little smoother for those less technically inclined are to refer to the OPTION click command rather than the Windows terminology of Right Click and also to remind users that dragging the A Folder onto your desktop will only result in putting an alias there. You have to do a Command C to make it copy the entire contents of the actual folder.

Thanks John3111, I made changes in the text following your suggestions.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:18 pm
by NN105208UL3
Great! This works also with Capture One 7!!! Thanks a lot for this "patch"!!!

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:36 pm
by NNN634578268182687544
thank you so so so much!!
first time it didn't work so i deleted capture one completely and reinstalled, and then i copied files as you explained.
AND IT WORKS WELL NOW!!

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:11 pm
by Drew
We've introduced the New Canon SDK for Capture One 7.0.2.
http://www.phaseone.com/en/Downloads/Capture-One-7.aspx

There are still some concerns we are working with Canon to try and remedy, namely the inability of the camera to reliably reconnect after it goes to sleep or the cable loses physical connection.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:14 am
by Brian Jones
Drew wrote:We've introduced the New Canon SDK for Capture One 7.0.2.
http://www.phaseone.com/en/Downloads/Capture-One-7.aspx

There are still some concerns we are working with Canon to try and remedy, namely the inability of the camera to reliably reconnect after it goes to sleep or the cable loses physical connection.


Will there be any more offical releases to C1 6 to address the Cannon tethering issues or is the work around as good as it will get?

Thanks.

Re: End to Canon tethering problems?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:10 am
by nzfreeman
Paul, you are a legend!

Thank you!

Richard